The Wildflowers of Mt. Tamalpais

050117_101r

July 4, 2017

Not that I’m self-important or deluded to the point of thinking my absence from the blogosphere has been noticed by my readers or the mainstream press, but I do apologize for my lack of recent posts. My workhorse MacBook Pro gave up the ghost/logic board back in March so I spent the springtime without the ability to share new wildflower photos. This was significant, because this year’s wildflower season, helped by the drought-busting rains, has been stupendous. Last week I finally got a replacement laptop (another MacBook).

I was fortunate to have an article published in Marin Magazine, featuring wildflower images from my various hikes around Mt. Tamalpais and Muir Woods over the recent years. This was my second article with this beautiful magazine (John Muir Trail – Dec. 2015). As always, the editors and art director did a superb job with the layout. Below is the opening spread. I’ve also included a link to the digital version of the article.

Screen Shot 2017-07-03 at 8.59.21 PM

http://digital.marinmagazine.com/marinmagazine/may_2017/?pg=52&pm=2&u1=friend

As mentioned, the photos in the spread were culled from my ever increasing archives of photos, but 2017 has been a great year for wildflowers all over California. As early as February, the deserts were crazy with blooms. Last year, I was able to make an extended trip to Death Valley for a “superbloom” of flowers. The Death Valley Superbloom – A Gallery of Flowers

This year, I stayed close to home, making weekly pilgrimages to my local trails, especially Mt. Tamalpais and Muir Woods in Marin County. The following gallery is from one of my favorite springtime hikes: a start at Muir Woods, then walks along Redwood Creek Trail and Heather Cut-off from Frank Valley.

About victorvolta

I am a freelance photographer/writer based in the San Francisco Bay Area. I grew up in the very suburban city of Santa Clara. Education: San Jose State University (class of '84) BA degree in Journalism with concentrations in Photojournalism and English. Favorite Foods: Ribeye steaks and Stan's Doughnuts (separate plates, usually). Favorite Drinks: Strong gourmet coffee and Trader Joe's Blood Orange Italian Soda (separate cups).
Gallery | This entry was posted in California State Parks, Local Hikes, Miscellaneous, Muir Woods, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

