The Wild, Wild Mushrooms of Mt. Tam

112916_067r

Jack o’lantern mushrooms

December 5, 2016

Here in Northern California, after an extended drought that saw some short term relief with a decent rainy season last year, we’re understandably hesitant to become overly giddy about early rains in October and November. But at the least, the early rains have meant an early bounty of wild mushrooms. I’m admittedly not enough of a forager or mycologist to be able to identify them well enough to chance taking a nibble. I like mushrooms well enough, but am more than happy to buy my edibles at Whole Foods or Safeway. The risk/reward is too great for me to start chowing down my photographic subjects.

Below is a gallery of mushroom images I’ve taken over my last three hikes on Mount Tamalpais. I apologize for the lack of mushroom identifications in the captions. Although I’m learning to winnow down the choices, I’d rather omit the information than misidentify them. To get a better view of the gallery, click on the first image and scroll through the gallery (I highly recommend viewing them full screen for better detail).

About victorvolta

I am a freelance photographer/writer based in the San Francisco Bay Area. I grew up in the very suburban city of Santa Clara. Education: San Jose State University (class of '84) BA degree in Journalism with concentrations in Photojournalism and English. Favorite Foods: Ribeye steaks and Stan's Doughnuts (separate plates, usually). Favorite Drinks: Strong gourmet coffee and Trader Joe's Blood Orange Italian Soda (separate cups).
Gallery | This entry was posted in California State Parks, Local Hikes, Mt. Tamalpais, mushrooms, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Wild, Wild Mushrooms of Mt. Tam

  1. Carol Martin says:

    Hey U,

    I see so many things in these photos of your mushrooms…such as: a skirt pattern I want made…. a new movie made by Disney called “shroom fantastic”!!!! also Asian hats….

    I can’t help repeat myself, but you are so amazing and:

    Vivid Involved Complex Talented Objective Raw

    You’re beyond an awesome photographer!! Thanks again for sharing. Wishing you and your Family a very, very Merry Christmas 🎄

    😘

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Pingback: A Year of Photos – 2016 | The Mountain Journals

Leave a Reply

