My Annual Tahoe Area Autumn Color Photo Safari

100616_117r

Rainbow Trail

October 2016

After missing the peak foliage season last year, I more than made up for it during my visit last Thursday and Friday. Up well before dawn and on the road with my large Peets coffee. I witnessed a glorious sunrise over the sloughs and estuaries above Suisun and Grizzly Bays, feeling that giddy delight of the early moments of a road trip. Rush hour traffic through Sacramento brought me back to earth, but the elation resumed as I reached the Sierra foothills, especially the beauty east of Placerville.

100616_003r

Sunrise near Grizzly Bay

100616_033r

American River

Once in the Tahoe area, I spent time on Thursday afternoon and evening exploring and photographing the area around the Mt. Tallac Trailhead and Taylor Creek. On Friday morning, I was again up before dawn so I could drive to Hope Valley where the beauty of the aspens around the Carson River, highway 88 and Carson Pass never fails to inspire. Please enjoy the gallery I put together from those two days. And let’s hope for a long wet rain and snow season for Northern California.

 

 

About victorvolta

I am a freelance photographer/writer based in the San Francisco Bay Area. I grew up in the very suburban city of Santa Clara. Education: San Jose State University (class of '84) BA degree in Journalism with concentrations in Photojournalism and English. Favorite Foods: Ribeye steaks and Stan's Doughnuts (separate plates, usually). Favorite Drinks: Strong gourmet coffee and Trader Joe's Blood Orange Italian Soda (separate cups).
Gallery | This entry was posted in Desolation Wilderness, Lake Tahoe hikes, Sierra Nevada, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Annual Tahoe Area Autumn Color Photo Safari

  1. Pingback: A Year of Photos – 2016 | The Mountain Journals

Leave a Reply

