A Year Half Full

DSC_4724

Crescent moon about to set over Death Valley(1 day past new)

June 27, 2016

My how time flies when I have no John Muir Trail hike to plan for. In both 2014 and last year, as I tracked the months, days and minutes until I hit the trail, it seemed that time was frozen and my calendar was dipped in glue. As much as I would love to head out for an extended backpacking trip again this summer, those pesky adult responsibilities like work, paying bills and buying groceries are unavoidable. But I can’t complain. Not many people are afforded the opportunity to hike the John Muir Trail two consecutive summers. And I live in an area that affords me easy access to some of the best hiking in the state, possibly even the universe. (This is one of those hyperbole statements that is not easy to refute, so I’ll let it stand). As the calendar flips to July, I still plan on getting out into the Sierra for some overnighters in the Desolation Wilderness area and if I can swing it, maybe even a mini-revisit of the JMT.

031516_013r

Lupines at Lake Don Pedro

For now, I share a gallery review of my first six months of adventuring. I was off work for almost three months early in the year, so that allowed me a few road trips, Death Valley and Yosemite being the highlights. I’m hoping the second half of 2016 features more wildflowers, landscapes, star-filled skies, howling coyotes, waterfalls and fungus.

About victorvolta

I am a freelance photographer/writer based in the San Francisco Bay Area. I grew up in the very suburban city of Santa Clara. Education: San Jose State University (class of '84) BA degree in Journalism with concentrations in Photojournalism and English. Favorite Foods: Ribeye steaks and Stan's Doughnuts (separate plates, usually). Favorite Drinks: Strong gourmet coffee and Trader Joe's Blood Orange Italian Soda (separate cups).
Gallery | This entry was posted in California State Parks, Death Valley National Park, Desolation Wilderness, Lake Tahoe hikes, Miscellaneous, Mt. Diablo, Mt. Tamalpais, Mt. Whitney, Muir Woods, National Parks, Wildflowers, Yosemite and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

