Springtime on Mt. Tam & Muir Woods

052016_089r

Winged beauty on the Redwood Trail

May 23, 2016

Although the much anticipated El Niño that we’d heard about since last summer didn’t quite live up to the historic and lofty expectations, it was still a decent year for rain and snowpack. Because of this it’s been a banner year for wildflowers all over the state, even Death Valley and the Sierra foothills. In recent posts, I shared galleries from my February and March road trips to DV and Yosemite. Today’s post shines the wildflower spotlight closer to home, my favored Mt. Tamalpais State Park and watershed, and Muir Woods National Monument. Most recently, I knocked a little rust off my camera and my legs (laid up with influenza!) and took a nice 8-mile tour of the area along Redwood Creek, Frank Valley and the Heather Cut-off Trail. This gallery highlights some of my flowery finds from that hike and some of my other springtime hikes on those Marin County locales.

Just a reminder, my book of Mt. Tamalpais and Muir Woods images is still available for sale. It makes a wonderful gift. Presently, I’m working on a John Muir Trail book and will keep you all posted when it’s available for Kindle and iPad.

http://www.blurb.com/b/4861636-mountain-soul

book1

Mountain Soul cover

 

About victorvolta

I am a freelance photographer/writer based in the San Francisco Bay Area. I grew up in the very suburban city of Santa Clara. Education: San Jose State University (class of '84) BA degree in Journalism with concentrations in Photojournalism and English. Favorite Foods: Ribeye steaks and Stan's Doughnuts (separate plates, usually). Favorite Drinks: Strong gourmet coffee and Trader Joe's Blood Orange Italian Soda (separate cups).
Gallery | This entry was posted in Local Hikes, Mountain Soul, Mt. Tamalpais, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

