Another ’25 Days’ Gallery from the John Muir Trail (Landscape Edition)

December 8, 2015

Starting off with the gallery and a touch of narrative below. Happy Holidays.

Christmastime and another great year (personally) winds down. I insert the parenthetical because I sometimes feel guilty to enjoy so many blessings against a backdrop of so much worldwide pain and suffering.

Recently I had the great fortune to have a photo essay and article published in Marin Magazine. While I’ve been a professional photographer for many years, the magazine spread was one of my most gratifying accomplishments. The editors and designers at the magazine did a wonderful job editing the piece and choosing photos. Below is the link to the article.

A Hiker’s Paradise – Marin Magazine

080715_0232bw

Day 23 – Diamond Mesa and the descent from Forester Pass

In August, shortly after I returned from the wilds, I put together a couple of galleries of images while I was very early in the editing process. Since then I’ve had a chance to go through almost all of my 2500+ images more methodically. With this new gallery, I share a fresh batch of images from each day. Happy Holidays to all.

A special note: I dedicate this post to the memory of Douglas Tompkins, the founder of The North Face who recently died in Patagonia while kayaking. He held true to his company slogan, “Never stop exploring”. I hope we all do the same.

 

 

About victorvolta

I am a freelance photographer/writer based in the San Francisco Bay Area. I grew up in the very suburban city of Santa Clara. Education: San Jose State University (class of '84) BA degree in Journalism with concentrations in Photojournalism and English. Favorite Foods: Ribeye steaks and Stan's Doughnuts (separate plates, usually). Favorite Drinks: Strong gourmet coffee and Trader Joe's Blood Orange Italian Soda (separate cups).
Gallery | This entry was posted in John Muir Trail, Miscellaneous, Mt. Whitney, Yosemite and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another ’25 Days’ Gallery from the John Muir Trail (Landscape Edition)

  1. Pingback: A Year of Photos – 2016 | The Mountain Journals

Leave a Reply

