25 Days of Landscapes on the John Muir Trail

August 31, 2015

A companion piece to last week’s wildflower blogpost. I’ve been off the John Muir Trail for three weeks now and it’s funny how even after such a short time, my ever so selective memory continues to reassess my time on the trail. I told myself that although I had an amazing time on the trail, it was something I wouldn’t attempt again. For a week after I got home, I had a hard time walking erect, my feet and ankles swelled, a gargantuan bruise developed on my right thigh and glute (almost alarming enough to send me running – or limping – to Kaiser’s urgent care), my clothes fit me like a scarecrow, and I felt even more haggard than I looked in the mirror. And now, reliving my memories through my photographs, journal entries and map notes, I can’t wait to try it again one of these summers. I do consider myself lucky in so many respects. First, just being able to take the time off to do such a trip two successive summers is a blessing. And now with so many other hikers being forced off the trail because of smoke from California’s wildfires, and many others rethinking or canceling their trips outright, I realize I was fortunate I finished before the smoke got really bad. Please enjoy this gallery and join me in praying, chanting and doing a rain dance for an early, wet rainy season for the western US.

About victorvolta

I am a freelance photographer/writer based in the San Francisco Bay Area. I grew up in the very suburban city of Santa Clara. Education: San Jose State University (class of '84) BA degree in Journalism with concentrations in Photojournalism and English. Favorite Foods: Ribeye steaks and Stan's Doughnuts (separate plates, usually). Favorite Drinks: Strong gourmet coffee and Trader Joe's Blood Orange Italian Soda (separate cups).
This entry was posted in John Muir Trail, Mt. Whitney, Yosemite and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

