John Muir Trail – 25 Days of Flowers & Fungus

August 21, 2015 

I’ve made it back from my John Muir Trail adventure and overjoyed to report that I made it the entire 220 miles from Yosemite Valley to the top of Mt. Whitney without serious physical or mental injury or harassment by bears, wolverines or aroused marmots. This will be the first of what I anticipate will be many blog posts featuring my photos and prose.

Even among the grand landscapes of the high Sierras, my eye is constantly drawn to wildflowers and mushrooms. Shortly before I left for my trip, somebody on the JMT/Facebook group posted a superb line (I wish I could remember his name to give him credit) about not focusing on the thread at the expense of the quilt. I pride myself on doing a decent job of that anyways, whether it’s in the Sierras or on my beloved local day hikes on Mt. Tamalpais, Muir Woods or elsewhere. But at the same time, on the John Muir Trail, eventually the boots need to be tightened, the camera turned off and I need to cover my miles for the day. I kept a good balance, doing a lot of photography in the morning while the lighting was still photo-friendly and then again in late afternoon after I’d set up my camp and I still had the energy to forage for good images.

Now I’m faced with a new quandary – I need to come up with a new adventure for next year. This year’s will be hard to top and I won’t even try. And I can’t even fathom another 320 day countdown.

Note: To my Facebook friends, many of you may have already seen this gallery last week when I posted in on that venue. I promise some fresh posts and images soon. 

About victorvolta

I am a freelance photographer/writer based in the San Francisco Bay Area. I grew up in the very suburban city of Santa Clara. Education: San Jose State University (class of '84) BA degree in Journalism with concentrations in Photojournalism and English. Favorite Foods: Ribeye steaks and Stan's Doughnuts (separate plates, usually). Favorite Drinks: Strong gourmet coffee and Trader Joe's Blood Orange Italian Soda (separate cups).
This entry was posted in John Muir Trail, Mt. Whitney, Wildflowers, Yosemite and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

