John Muir Trail II – Worse Than Waiting for the Next Star Wars Movie

June 3, 2015 – The Perception of Time

As I learned last year in the almost interminable anticipation of my first foray onto the John Muir Trail, time drags ever so slowly while waiting for such an epic adventure. Whether counted by months, weeks or days, there’s just no way to make it sound like it’s just around the corner…until it’s just around the corner. I’ve been telling my friends that if they ever feel as if time is flying, they should plan one of these trips. As I write this blog entry, I’m 45 days away from taking those first giddy steps up the JMT from Happy Isles in Yosemite. This will be my second attempt and I’m anxious to put the lessons I learned last year to use. I have four or five more training hikes between now and the trip, but I’m pretty much ready to go today…after I wash the dishes, put out the trash and buy a few bags of Milanos for the resupply boxes.

So today’s gallery is a compilation of images from my April and May hikes and short trips. Adventures that keep me immersed in nature each week and help bridge the gap until I strap on The Beast and start the long, beautiful walk from Yosemite to Mt. Whitney…tick tock, tick tock.

About victorvolta

I am a freelance photographer/writer based in the San Francisco Bay Area. I grew up in the very suburban city of Santa Clara. Education: San Jose State University (class of '84) BA degree in Journalism with concentrations in Photojournalism and English. Favorite Foods: Ribeye steaks and Stan's Doughnuts (separate plates, usually). Favorite Drinks: Strong gourmet coffee and Trader Joe's Blood Orange Italian Soda (separate cups).
This entry was posted in California State Parks, John Muir Trail, Mt. Diablo, Mt. Tamalpais, Muir Woods, Wildflowers, Yosemite and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

