Adventures Past, Adventures to Come – Early 2015 Photo Gallery

jmtblogcollage

April 4, 2015 

As of this morning, JMT II – 2015 is but 104 days away. In the planning and endless anticipation for last year’s trip, I learned many valuable lessons. High on that list of lessons is that regardless of whether I’m counting it down in days, weeks, or months, the wait seems interminable. It’s a supreme test of my ‘Zen-ness’ or, at times, lack thereof.

The photo collage above shows me happy on the morning of August 3 last year, at Glacier Point, moments from taking my first steps overloaded steps down the Panoramic Trail. Photo to the right is essentially what I took on the trip. One major difference is that I did take a lighter, albeit bigger, bear canister (Bearikade Expedition) on the trip. This year, I plan on shaving nearly 10 pounds from my base weight, which is a huge difference. (Lighter tent -the Big Agnes, pictured to the left. I set it up this afternoon in my backyard to test it; much smaller solar charger for my USB devices; fewer fuel canisters; and several more judicious choices).

But for now, as the days tick slowly past, I have the wonderful fortune to be able to get out in my Bay Area locales to train, explore, wander, and crawl on the ground looking at wildflowers and mushrooms. In another month or so, I’ll take the occasional trip to Desolation Wilderness and marvel at glacial erratics, alpine lakes and starry skies that’ll leave me awestruck and giggling like a child. And before I know it, July 16th will arrive and I’ll once again have that same rapturous smile you see above spread across my face.                   The accompanying gallery is a sample of my various hikes from the first quarter of 2015 (Some of the images were in my last gallery, so I apologize for a few ‘reruns’)

.

Happy Trails, Victor

About victorvolta

I am a freelance photographer/writer based in the San Francisco Bay Area. I grew up in the very suburban city of Santa Clara. Education: San Jose State University (class of '84) BA degree in Journalism with concentrations in Photojournalism and English. Favorite Foods: Ribeye steaks and Stan's Doughnuts (separate plates, usually). Favorite Drinks: Strong gourmet coffee and Trader Joe's Blood Orange Italian Soda (separate cups).
Gallery | This entry was posted in California State Parks, John Muir Trail, Lake Tahoe hikes, Local Hikes, Mt. Diablo, Mt. Tamalpais, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

