Wild Mushrooms – Autumn’s Answer to those Damned Showoff Wildflowers

Wild mushroom - Benstein Trail, Mt. Tamalpais State Park

Wild mushroom – Benstein Trail, Mt. Tamalpais State Park

December 4, 2014 

Nothing like a series of storms to make a hiker giddy. Especially one who resides in Northern California where we’re suffering through an extended drought. Of course, it takes more than a week of rain to lift us out of danger, but it has to start somewhere. The recent rains of the past three weeks have not only made the creeks on Mt. Tamalpais run high, they’ve caused the local wild mushroom population to explode. I’ve never seen such abundance and variety. My background is definitely not scientific, so I apologize that my gallery is lacking in specific identification of some the various species. And I’m not about to start doing trailside taste tests. I do have a few friends who’ve helped me with my wildflowers and to a lesser extent, wild mushroom IDs. I’ll try to fill in the gaps in the coming weeks. In the meantime, I’ll just enjoy and share the beauty of these mushrooms, and I’ll rely on Whole Foods to supply the ones I eat. (all mushrooms in the gallery were photographed at Mt. Tamalpais State Park, except for the final image, which I took while on the John Muir Trail in August)

About victorvolta

I am a freelance photographer/writer based in the San Francisco Bay Area. I grew up in the very suburban city of Santa Clara. Education: San Jose State University (class of '84) BA degree in Journalism with concentrations in Photojournalism and English. Favorite Foods: Ribeye steaks and Stan's Doughnuts (separate plates, usually). Favorite Drinks: Strong gourmet coffee and Trader Joe's Blood Orange Italian Soda (separate cups).
Gallery | This entry was posted in California State Parks, John Muir Trail, Local Hikes, Mountain Soul, Mt. Tamalpais, Muir Woods and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

