Aha! So THAT’s Why They’re the State Flower

California Poppy and erodium

April 25, 2014 – Mt. Diablo State Park

Warning! If you dislike poppies, you probably aren’t going to like this latest blog post. Granted, you’ll find a stray lupine or two, some sunflowers, a buttercup, a thistle and a really strange looking Star Trek-ish two tiered flower. But California poppies, our state flower, really steal the show. To make it easy, after a few more words here, I’ve put the images into a gallery.

Today marks 100 days until I begin my John Muir Trail adventure. I’ll be attempting the full 220 miles from Yosemite to Mt. Whitney. On my local training hikes, like the one I did on Mt. Diablo yesterday, I love some of the looks I get from tourists and day hikers when I’m coming up or down trail with my full 40-pound pack. I can’t tell if they admire my strength or think I’m deranged. Some just shake their heads, say hello, and give me a wide berth. One hundred days still seems like a interminable amount of time, but the number was about 250 when I first decided to green-light the trip last November so I know it’ll eventually get here…eventually. More updates will certainly follow, but for now, enjoy the poppies.

About victorvolta

I am a freelance photographer/writer based in the San Francisco Bay Area. I grew up in the very suburban city of Santa Clara. Education: San Jose State University (class of '84) BA degree in Journalism with concentrations in Photojournalism and English. Favorite Foods: Ribeye steaks and Stan's Doughnuts (separate plates, usually). Favorite Drinks: Strong gourmet coffee and Trader Joe's Blood Orange Italian Soda (separate cups).
Gallery | This entry was posted in California State Parks, John Muir Trail, Local Hikes, Mt. Diablo, Uncategorized, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

