‘My Eyes Search the Skies Desperately for Rain’ – Help us Motown!

January 30, 2014 

Rainbow over Oakland, July 2009

Rainbow over Oakland, July 2009

With most of the USA east of the Continental Divide ready for old man winter to take a hike and stop pelting them with ice, wind, polar vortexes (or is it vortices?) and other inclement weather, out here in brown-hilled, dry creek bedded Northern California, we’re still waiting for the rainy season. It’s unnerving to see people sporting mid-summer tans and wearing t-shirts for an entire January. I’ve taken to doing desperate rain dances since before Christmas. I started with my old tired disco moves from the late 70’s and a few other really bad ones from the 80’s. This only seemed to piss off the rain gods more and I tried waltzing, the twist, moonwalking and the Charleston. Finally relief came when I posted a ‘Temptations’ clip ‘I Wish it Would Rain’ on a friend’s Facebook timeline yesterday. I copied a few of the spins on my hardwood floors without serious injury. The rain amounts were relatively meager, but it was a start. And the Sierras got a decent amount of snow at higher elevations. So today’s theme for my gallery is ‘weather’. Think of it as a photographic rain dance. I hope it helps, so I can stop obsessing about the ’10 Day Forecast’ on weather.com.

 

 

About victorvolta

I am a freelance photographer/writer based in the San Francisco Bay Area. I grew up in the very suburban city of Santa Clara. Education: San Jose State University (class of '84) BA degree in Journalism with concentrations in Photojournalism and English. Favorite Foods: Ribeye steaks and Stan's Doughnuts (separate plates, usually). Favorite Drinks: Strong gourmet coffee and Trader Joe's Blood Orange Italian Soda (separate cups).
Gallery | This entry was posted in California State Parks, Desolation Wilderness, John Muir Trail, Local Hikes, Miscellaneous, Mt. Tamalpais, Mt. Whitney and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘My Eyes Search the Skies Desperately for Rain’ – Help us Motown!

Leave a Reply

