Autumn Colors’ Greatest Hits – My Favorite Album (sorry Bob Dylan!)

Foliage near Taylor Creek

Foliage near Taylor Creek

September 29, 2013

Today I share a gallery of images from the Sierras, a collection of my favorite fall color images. Although I go to the Sierras about once a month, the trip I look most forward to is my Annual Lake Tahoe/Taylor Creek/Hope Valley Autumn Color and Spawning Salmon Photo Safari. Kind of rolls off the tongue, doesn’t it. (You should see the t-shirt logo!) It’s become an annual ritual for me over the past decade. I was in South Lake Tahoe this past week (Thurs & Friday) and found that I was still about two or three weeks early for peak aspen foliage. And the Kokanee Salmon were still absent from Taylor Creek although the ranger told me they were nearing the creek’s mouthI think another trip might be in order for mid-October. For those inclined to visit, there’s actually a festival to celebrate the Kokanee Salmon spawn in Taylor Creek this coming weekend. As for the gallery, They aren’t in strict chronological order, but for the most part, they were all taken in late September through mid October over the past five years. Enjoy! (all images © Victor Volta)

.

To purchase prints (starting at $150) contact me through blog comments or my email address: victorvolta@comcast.net

About victorvolta

I am a freelance photographer/writer based in the San Francisco Bay Area. I grew up in the very suburban city of Santa Clara. Education: San Jose State University (class of '84) BA degree in Journalism with concentrations in Photojournalism and English. Favorite Foods: Ribeye steaks and Stan's Doughnuts (separate plates, usually). Favorite Drinks: Strong gourmet coffee and Trader Joe's Blood Orange Italian Soda (separate cups).
Gallery | This entry was posted in California State Parks, Desolation Wilderness, Lake Tahoe hikes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Autumn Colors’ Greatest Hits – My Favorite Album (sorry Bob Dylan!)

  1. Chanel says:

    These are Gorgeous!! Can’t wait to see more!

    • victorvolta says:

      Thank you Chanel! I appreciate you taking the time to look and comment. (& I like your dreamcatcher!) I’ll be heading back to the Sierras in two weeks to take more photos and do some hiking. Peace!

  2. jhucksphotog says:

    Beautiful images! I love the Hope Valley landscape!

  3. Beautiful photos of Hope Valley! Will you share them with us next time you’re in the area?

    • victorvolta says:

      Of course! And I’m about to publish an article on Examiner.com (next day or two) about the fall colors. In it I list my 5 Favorite spots for viewing the foliage and Hope Valley is at the top of the list. I also will be mentioning your resort, with a link to your website. I’ll probably come up to the Sierras again next week or the following. Thank you for the kind comment.

Leave a Reply

