The Eastern Sierras – Or, If God Let Me Design Paradise

Eastern Sierras near Mono Lake (2012)

Eastern Sierras near Mono Lake (2012)

July 18, 2013

Admittedly, as a resident Californian, and someone who was born in the San Francisco Bay Area, I’m more than a bit partial to my home turf. If Mt. Tamalpais is my front yard, then the Sierras (especially the Lake Tahoe region, Yosemite, the Eastern Sierras, and Mt. Whitney) are my backyard. Thankfully, I’m not responsible for cutting the grass or pruning the trees. Last week I took what has become my annual trip to the Sierras. Yes, I go to the mountains more often than that, but each July or early August since 2009, I take an extended trip across the mountain range and then drive south along the spine of California to Lone Pine and Mt. Whitney. On the way home, I drive home by way of Mono Lake, Bridgeport, Walker River and eventually, Lake Tahoe. Here’s a collection of images from my recent trip. I’ll follow soon with another entry with more narrative.

About victorvolta

I am a freelance photographer/writer based in the San Francisco Bay Area. I grew up in the very suburban city of Santa Clara. Education: San Jose State University (class of '84) BA degree in Journalism with concentrations in Photojournalism and English. Favorite Foods: Ribeye steaks and Stan's Doughnuts (separate plates, usually). Favorite Drinks: Strong gourmet coffee and Trader Joe's Blood Orange Italian Soda (separate cups).
Gallery | This entry was posted in California State Parks, Desolation Wilderness, Lake Tahoe hikes, Mt. Whitney, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

