The Many Faces of Mt. Whitney

Mt. Whitney - Tuesday morning

Mt. Whitney – Tuesday morning

July 16, 2013    Back from my travels in the Sierras feeling a bit unfulfilled. I got rained out on Mt. Whitney on Thursday. I’ll do a longer post later in the week, but with a wilderness pass for last Thursday (7/11), my window of opportunity closed quickly. I’ve learned from personal experience not to try to out-macho a 14,500 foot mountain. As I drove up the mountain toward the Whitney Portal Tuesday morning, there wasn’t a cloud in the sky and Whitney looked benign. How quickly things changed. It started clouding up on Wednesday, sprinkled a little late in the afternoon, then it rained all night – not hard, but I figured that if it was unsettled at 8,200′, it wasn’t going to be better six thousand feet higher. Here are some photos as the day progressed.

Wednesday morning, 9:23 a.m.

Main trail below Carillon Creek and North Fork of Lone Pine Creek

Main trail below Carillon Creek and North Fork of Lone Pine Creek

Thursday, just past noon as I drove from camp down to Lone Pine

Mt. Whitney behind the clouds

Mt. Whitney behind the clouds

whitney2013_0141s

Mt. Whitney

Finally, at sunset on Thursday.  Still unsettled, but magnificent

Mt. Whitney (6:30 pm)

Mt. Whitney (6:30 pm)

Mt. Whitney - 7:45 pm

Mt. Whitney – 7:45 pm

About victorvolta

I am a freelance photographer/writer based in the San Francisco Bay Area. I grew up in the very suburban city of Santa Clara. Education: San Jose State University (class of '84) BA degree in Journalism with concentrations in Photojournalism and English. Favorite Foods: Ribeye steaks and Stan's Doughnuts (separate plates, usually). Favorite Drinks: Strong gourmet coffee and Trader Joe's Blood Orange Italian Soda (separate cups).
This entry was posted in Local Hikes, Miscellaneous, Mt. Whitney, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Many Faces of Mt. Whitney

  1. Mona says:

    Natural beauty…… Awesome.

  2. cerrosolo says:

    Sorry you didn’t get to do the hike, but good job on not testing the mountain. We’re planning to do the hike in a few weeks. With the amount of time and prep involved, I know it’ll be a very hard decision if we experience similar conditions. But, it’s really the only choice. Thanks for your post and the excellent photos.

    • victorvolta says:

      Thank you for taking the time to view my blog and comment. Yes, it is a tough decision, but I’m confident I made the right choice, especially after some of my other hiking compadres informed me it was snowing at the summit at mid-day. I’ve been on the mountain during violent thunderstorms and it’s a harrowing, humbling experience. Best of luck with your attempt.

Leave a Reply

