Eagle Lake and the Velmas – not a music group, a Desolation Wilderness Hike

June 25, 2013

View below Eagle Lake

View below Eagle Lake

 

Greeting hikers and nature lovers. Once again last week I was up in Desolationland (aka Desolation Wilderness, Lake Tahoe area), hiking one of my favorite Sierra trails, the Eagle Fall Trails. Although the lower part of this trail can get a bit crowded late in the morning and early afternoon, once past the Desolation Wilderness sign above the footbridge, it is much more bucolic and it gets even more so once you get past Eagle Lake. Although on this trip I ventured to Dicks Lake, the trip to the trio of Velma Lakes remains my favorite. In my most recent article for The Examiner, I wrote about the trail to the Velmas (Upper, Middle, Lower) and included a slideshow of 14 photos. Here’s a link:

http://www.examiner.com/article/desolation-wilderness-eagle-falls-trail-and-the-velma-lakes-1

I’m also two weeks away from my next Whitney trip so you can count on some blog posts and new photos from that trip. Happy Trails to all!

Glacial erratic along the Emerald Bay Trail

Glacial erratic along the Emerald Bay Trail

 

About victorvolta

I am a freelance photographer/writer based in the San Francisco Bay Area. I grew up in the very suburban city of Santa Clara. Education: San Jose State University (class of '84) BA degree in Journalism with concentrations in Photojournalism and English. Favorite Foods: Ribeye steaks and Stan's Doughnuts (separate plates, usually). Favorite Drinks: Strong gourmet coffee and Trader Joe's Blood Orange Italian Soda (separate cups).
This entry was posted in California State Parks, Lake Tahoe hikes, Local Hikes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eagle Lake and the Velmas – not a music group, a Desolation Wilderness Hike

  1. Debi says:

    I really enjoyed your article in the Examiner. Thanks so much for sharing your adventures. I’m excited to head to the Velmas in a week, and then my first attempt at Whitney in August. I’ll keep reading if you keep posting!!
    Thanks.
    Debi

Leave a Reply

