Mount Tamalpais

Miwok Trail

June 14, 2012

Predictably, with the arrival of spring, I’ve been spending much of my spare time on the hiking trails, training for my August Mt. Whitney attempt. This is partial explanation for the lengthening  gaps between journal entries. As always, I tend to gravitate to Mt. Tamalpais in Marin county. As I’ve looked over my blog entries since starting The Mountain Journals last year, I was astonished to discover that I’ve never done a blog post devoted solely to Mt. Tamalpais. For those of you not from the area, Mt. Tam, as we call it here in the Bay Area, is located in Marin County north of San Francisco. It is one of the jewels of the California State Park system and is adjacent to Muir Woods, part of the National Park system. Miles and miles of hiking trails join these parks. Although I’m blessed to live close to many other parks in other counties close by, Mt. Tamalpais remains my favorite. It is my church.

Today I share with you twenty-five of my favorite images from Mt. Tam and Muir Woods. All images are © Victor Volta. Unauthorized use or downloads are prohibited.

 

About victorvolta

I am a freelance photographer/writer based in the San Francisco Bay Area. I grew up in the very suburban city of Santa Clara. Education: San Jose State University (class of '84) BA degree in Journalism with concentrations in Photojournalism and English. Favorite Foods: Ribeye steaks and Stan's Doughnuts (separate plates, usually). Favorite Drinks: Strong gourmet coffee and Trader Joe's Blood Orange Italian Soda (separate cups).
Gallery | This entry was posted in California State Parks, Local Hikes, Mt. Tamalpais, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mount Tamalpais

  1. I hike at the Headlands all the time but I still haven’t been to Mt. Tam. These photos are amazing Victor. Wow!

    • victorvolta says:

      Thanks Sherri! Obviously Mt. Tam/Muir Woods inhabits a special place in my heart. If you ever decide to try hiking there, I’ll be glad to advise on trails. And for a small fee (cup of coffee and/or a pastry) I’ll even act as a tour guide. Hope you’re well!

Leave a Reply

