An April hike on Mt. Diablo

Taking advantage of the spectacular mid-week weather and mild temperatures, I paid my first visit of the year to Mt. Diablo, taking a break from Mt. Tam. Of course, at this point, since I’m in training mode for a Mt. Whitney climb in August, none of my hikes are breaks. But I still found plenty of time to admire the beauty of the wildflowers, and the oak-studded hills, still green, lush and radiant.

California state flower, the golden poppie

Blue Dicks and poppies

Stray clouds curling around the Mt. Diablo summit

Looking east from about 2000', snow on the Sierras

Blue Dicks along the Back Creek Trail

Oaks along the Back Creek Trail

This week, to celebrate National Park Week, most likely it’ll be a Muir Woods hike. But what I really look forward to is a  visit to Yosemite to hike along the waterfalls in a couple of weeks.