Energy Bar Aversion Therapy

Still descending the mountain past Mirror Lake, to say that I’m not doing very well would be a gross understatement. Note to makers of energy bars: have you ever thought of  a rib-eye steak flavored option?

Lone Pine Lake

THE MOUNT WHITNEY JOURNALS — Book IV — 2007

Low on water as I reach Outpost Camp, I refill my bottles alongside the trail where a cascade of creek water pools among the rocks. I want to keep moving, but I’m faltering again and need to stop for a few minutes. I descend a little more and find a flat spot to rest at the base of a Lodgepole pine. My legs continue to shake and twitch the entire time I’m at rest. My body is desperate for real food, but all I have left are Clif bars, for which I’ve developed an intense aversion. As I fish another one out of my fanny pack, I wonder what pine cones and bugs taste like. Even my hands are shaking and I have to use a knife to cut open the Clif bar bag. I’m so tired I could cry. I can only manage two bites of the bar before my saliva is gone and the last bite turns to paste in my mouth. I drink more water to rinse it down.

I psyche myself up for the last climb of the day, a short rise of two to three hundred yards that leads away from Outpost Camp towards Lone Pine Lake. I reach for my poles to help myself off the ground and then I refasten my load. My neck and shoulders are in knots from carrying my daypack and camera. By this time tomorrow, I’ll be back in Las Vegas where the heaviest thing I plan to lift is either a fork with a bloody chunk of medium-rare prime rib-eye at the end of it or a double corona at the Casa Fuente cigar bar at Caesars. I hear footsteps behind me and turn to look, hoping it’s Richard, but instead it’s a young hiker in his twenties. He blazes past me on young, fresh legs. Out of respect, he can at least act like he’s struggling. I resent him instantly.

About victorvolta

I am a freelance photographer/writer based in the San Francisco Bay Area. I grew up in the very suburban city of Santa Clara. Education: San Jose State University (class of '84) BA degree in Journalism with concentrations in Photojournalism and English. Favorite Foods: Ribeye steaks and Stan's Doughnuts (separate plates, usually). Favorite Drinks: Strong gourmet coffee and Trader Joe's Blood Orange Italian Soda (separate cups).
This entry was posted in Book IV Excerpt - 2007, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

