A summer hike on Mt. Diablo

As promised when I first started this blog, I will dedicate some of my entries to non-Mt. Whitney topics. I am currently in training for another Mt. Whitney attempt, possibly my last one for a while. I’m hoping to give Mt. Kilimanjaro a try in 2012 if I can manage the costs of the trip. Yesterday, however, I set my sights on a much more local peak, Mt. Diablo. I started at Rock City (elev. 1620′) and hiked approximately 4 miles up the Summit Trail to the top of Mt. Diablo (elev. 3849′). On the descent, I took the Juniper Trail until it met up with the Summit Trail again.

I have to admit, that I prefer the environs of Mt. Tamalpais, which is where I do a majority of my hiking. It’s cooler there, I love the abundant redwoods, and I’ve never come across a rattlesnake. Nevertheless, Mt. Diablo offers a wonderful variety of geology, wildflowers and tremendous views. Here are a handful of photos I came home with yesterday. I’ve also included a couple of images from a hike last year.

About victorvolta

I am a freelance photographer/writer based in the San Francisco Bay Area. I grew up in the very suburban city of Santa Clara. Education: San Jose State University (class of '84) BA degree in Journalism with concentrations in Photojournalism and English. Favorite Foods: Ribeye steaks and Stan's Doughnuts (separate plates, usually). Favorite Drinks: Strong gourmet coffee and Trader Joe's Blood Orange Italian Soda (separate cups).
Gallery | This entry was posted in Local Hikes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A summer hike on Mt. Diablo

  1. wolke205 says:

    What animal is it on the pic? That s just too cute 🙂 I love your pics!

  2. Hi Victor, Ewa here, your FB friend.
    You have to try Mt Diablo in the spring, not as hot, great wild flowers, and views to kill for. I wish I lived closer, it would have been my favorite training place before my 2011 JMT. For that Mission Peak had to do. Not the prettiest mountain to hike but still a good workout.
    Envious about Kilimanjaro. Very envious…

    • victorvolta says:

      Thanks Ewa, Hope you’re well. I think that since I’m about the same distance from Mt. Tam as Diablo, Mt. Tam almost always wins out. I like the variety of trails, not as many fire roads and downtown Mill Valley to unwind and grab some post-hike Peets coffee. Unfortunately, Kilimanjaro is probably not going to happen next year. The cost is a bit out of my range. I think I’ll stick to domestic hikes…not that that is such a hardship.

Leave a Reply

